I yam what I yam

There are a lot of things I don’t understand. For instance, I’m not sure exactly what it is that engineers do. Also I have a hard time telling when bacon is done cooking. I’m constantly looking things up and therefore have become that friend that says things like: “Did you know that polar bear’s fur is actually clear tubes filled with air which keeps them warm and helps them float?”. I am also never scared to admit I don’t know things. I wish everyone was like that. Several years ago I was told I “lacked political acuity”. At the time I was like “political whaaa…?” and then hurt because, well, no one likes criticism even if they don’t understand the words being used.

Now, I think it wasn’t meant so much as a criticism but more of an observation or note. He was not wrong though, not only do I lack it, at that point I almost didn’t know it was a thing. So I’m working on learning how to navigate situations where less is more and keeping your cards close to your chest is advantageous. But I kind of wish the rest of the world was working on being more open and honest. I never have a hidden agenda and I say what I mean and I sometimes get my feelings hurt when I don’t get the same in return.

The truth is though – I kind of like that about me.

One thought on “I yam what I yam

Leave a Reply

